Plugging

Stecken über Leiterplatte

Plugging, Holefilling, Microvia Copper Filling or Via Hole Plugging refers to the filling of metallized through holes or metallized blind holes on the outer layers of the printed circuit board. There, a planar surface topography can be achieved even with highly complex circuit carriers, through which the process safety and reliability in the assembly process, no solder run-off, no air inclusions, can be significantly increased.

The result is fillet-and-capped vias . Components can be placed directly via these vias and the integration density increased. The advantages are a considerable gain in space for SBU setups (SBU: sequential build up) and fewer restrictions in the layout design of complex circuits.

The metallized holes are filled with a special plugging paste and then over-metallized. There are various technological options for introducing the paste into the borehole, each with its own specific advantages and disadvantages:

– roller coating process

– screen printing process

– stencil printing

– vertical vacuum filling

KSG opted for full-surface vertical vacuum filling due to the wide range of applications. This process makes it possible to fill not only through holes but also mechanically drilled or laser-drilled blind holes quickly, reliably and reproducibly and is thus available for many applications. Further advantages compared to conventional screen printing processes are the air bubble free filling of the holes, a high flexibility, a lower paste consumption as well as the filling of holes with a higher aspect ratio.

Plugging
Plugging in micrograph: filled through hole on the left and filled blind hole on the right

LinkedIn
E-Mail
Print

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top

Plugging

Stecken über Leiterplatte

Plugging, Holefilling, Microvia Copper Filling oder Via Hole Plugging bezeichnet das Verfüllen metallisierter Durchgangsbohrungen bzw. metallisierter Sacklochbohrungen auf den Außenlagen der Leiterplatte. Dort erreicht man auch bei hochkomplexen Schaltungsträgern eine planare Oberflächentopographie, durch die die Prozesssicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit im Bestückungsprozess, kein Lotabfluss, keine Lufteinschlüsse, wesentlich erhöht werden kann.

Das Ergebnis sind Filled-and-Capped-Vias. Über diese Vias können Bauteile direkt platziert und die Integrationsdichte erhöht werden.  Die Vorteile sind ein erheblicher Platzgewinn bei SBU-Aufbauten (SBU: sequential build up) und geringere Einschränkungen bei der Layoutgestaltung komplexer Schaltungen.

Die metallisierten Bohrungen werden mit einer speziellen Plugging-Paste verfüllt und anschließend übermetallisiert. Für das Einbringen der Paste in die Bohrung gibt es verschiedene technologische Möglichkeiten mit ihren jeweiligen spezifischen Vor- und Nachteilen:

• Roller-Coating-Verfahren

• Siebdruck-Verfahren

• Schablonendruck-Verfahren

• vertikale Vakuumverfüllung

KSG hat sich aufgrund des breiten Einsatzspektrums für eine vollflächige, vertikale Vakuum-Verfüllung entschieden. Dieses Verfahren ermöglicht es, neben Durchgangsbohrungen auch mechanisch gebohrte oder Laser-gebohrte Sacklöcher schnell, zuverlässig und reproduzierbar zu verfüllen und steht dadurch vielen Anwendungen zur Verfügung. Weitere Vorteile gegenüber herkömmlichen Siebdruckverfahren sind das luftblasenfreie Verfüllen der Bohrungen, eine hohe Flexibilität, ein geringerer Pastenverbrauch sowie die Verfüllung von Bohrungen mit größerem Aspekt Ratio.

Plugging
Plugging im Schliffbild: gefüllte Durchgangsbohrung links und gefülltes Sacklochbohrung rechts
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on xing
XING
Share on email
E-Mail
Share on print
Print

Kommentar hinterlassen

Scroll to Top