HSMtec®

In the HSMtec® process, 500 µm thick copper elements with variable widths from 2 to 12 mm and individual lengths are laid in the inner layers of the multilayer and embedded in the PCB. Through the partial integration of copper profiles into the PCB, high-current paths – or heat management and fine conductor layout – can be easily combined and adapted to the spatial conditions. Since the copper profiles are partially integrated into the PCB, load and logic or power and control electronics can be combined on one PCB.

The copper elements are bonded to the etched inner and/or outer layers using ultrasonic bonding technology. The integrated copper elements transmit currents of up to 400 A and also quickly reduce heat generation to permissible partial and system temperatures. This enables easy integration into a standard multilayer manufacturing process with subsequent pressing of the individual layers. A wide range of design variants allow high currents and heat losses from components to be fed specifically into PCBs – without any further external work steps.

Power components and control electronics on one circuit board

The HSMtec® PCB technology combines load and logic on one assembly with minimal PCB area. This makes it possible to meet the electrical specifications for dielectric strength and insulation classes in automation as well as demanding temperature conditions with limited installation space in automotive electronics.

A look at the specific thermal conductivity shows the importance of the continuous metallic path from source to sink and the potential of HSMtec®. Copper conducts heat 1000 times better than FR4. The intelligent combination of integrated copper profiles with Thermovias makes it possible to connect the power components directly to the copper profiles and avoid bottlenecks in the thermal path.

A thermally optimised layer structure also ensures rapid heat spreading and supports the entire thermal concept. A practical example shows this clearly: The current-carrying capacity of a conductor track can double if there are two internal ground layers underneath that have no self-heating. Another example shows the potential of Thermovias: On an area of 10 mm x 10 mm it is possible to place more than 400 plated-through holes with a diameter of 0.25 mm, which means that the area then consists of 10% copper.

The effective thermal conductivity of such an FR4 surface increases to 30 W/m-K with this design measure. This makes this design a hundred times more thermally conductive than FR4 and even ten times more conductive than the best thermal conduction substrates. HSMtec® has been qualified by independent testing institutes and uses standard FR4 material. Moreover, it is manufactured in the standard production process and can be further processed in the usual assembly and soldering process.

The connection technology: highly current-optimised and compact

The PCB connection components from Weidmüller’s Omnimate Power range complement the HSMtec® PCB. Designed for servo controllers and frequency converters, the PCB terminals are available with pitches of up to 15 mm and a power range of up to 150 A/1000 V (IEC) and 127 A/600 V (UL) and different contact types. HSMtec® PCBs are also contacted with screw and pressure contacts especially for IGBTs, press-fit contacts in compliance with the necessary press-fit tolerances and with solder contacts for through-hole technology (THT) or with reflow-capable components for automated SMT processes.

Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on xing
XING
Share on email
E-Mail
Share on print
Print

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top

HSMtec®

Beim HSMtec®-Verfahren werden 500 µm dicke Kupferelemente mit variablen Breiten von 2 bis 12 mm und individuellen Längen in die Innenlagen des Multilayers gelegt und in die Leiterplatte eingebettet. Durch die partielle Integration von Kupferprofilen in die Leiterplatte können Hochstrompfade – oder Wärmemanagement und Feinleiterlayout – einfach kombiniert und an die räumlichen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden. Da die Kupferprofile teilweise in die Leiterplatte integriert sind, können Last und Logik oder Leistungs- und Steuerelektronik auf einer Leiterplatte kombiniert werden.

Die Kupferelemente werden mit den geätzten Innen- und/oder Außenschichten mittels Ultraschallbondtechnik verbunden. Die integrierten Kupferelemente übertragen Ströme von bis zu 400 A und reduzieren zudem die Wärmeentwicklung schnell auf zulässige Teil- und Systemtemperaturen. Dies ermöglicht eine einfache Integration in einen Standard-Multilayer-Fertigungsprozess mit anschließendem Verpressen der einzelnen Schichten. Durch eine Vielzahl von Ausführungsvarianten lassen sich hohe Ströme und Verlustleistungen von Bauteilen gezielt in Leiterplatten einspeisen – ohne weitere externe Arbeitsschritte.

Leistungskomponenten und Steuerelektronik auf einer Platine

Die HSMtec®-Leiterplattentechnologie vereint Last und Logik auf einer Baugruppe bei minimaler Leiterplattenfläche. Damit lassen sich die elektrischen Spezifikationen für Spannungsfestigkeit und Isolationsklassen in der Automatisierung ebenso erfüllen wie anspruchsvolle Temperaturbedingungen bei begrenztem Bauraum in der Automobilelektronik.

Ein Blick auf die spezifische Wärmeleitfähigkeit zeigt die Bedeutung des durchgängigen metallischen Pfades von der Quelle zur Senke und das Potenzial von HSMtec®. Kupfer leitet die Wärme 1000-mal besser als FR4. Die intelligente Kombination von integrierten Kupferprofilen mit Thermovias ermöglicht es, die Leistungskomponenten direkt mit den Kupferprofilen zu verbinden und Engpässe im Wärmepfad zu vermeiden.

Ein thermisch optimierter Schichtaufbau sorgt zudem für eine schnelle Wärmeausbreitung und unterstützt das gesamte thermische Konzept. Ein praktisches Beispiel zeigt dies deutlich: Die Strombelastbarkeit einer Leiterbahn kann sich verdoppeln, wenn sich darunter zwei innere Masseschichten befinden, die keine Eigenerwärmung haben. Ein weiteres Beispiel zeigt das Potenzial von Thermovias: Auf einer Fläche von 10 mm x 10 mm können mehr als 400 durchkontaktierte Löcher mit einem Durchmesser von 0,25 mm platziert werden, so dass die Fläche dann zu 10 % aus Kupfer besteht.

Die effektive Wärmeleitfähigkeit einer solchen FR4-Oberfläche erhöht sich durch diese konstruktive Maßnahme auf 30 W/m-K. Damit ist diese Konstruktion hundertmal wärmeleitfähiger als FR4 und sogar zehnmal leitfähiger als die besten Wärmeleitsubstrate. HSMtec® wurde von unabhängigen Prüfinstituten qualifiziert und verwendet Standard-FR4-Material. Außerdem wird er im Standard-Fertigungsverfahren hergestellt und kann im üblichen Montage- und Lötprozess weiterverarbeitet werden.

Die Anschlusstechnik: hochstromoptimiert und kompakt

Die Leiterplatten-Anschlusskomponenten aus dem Omnimate-Power-Programm von Weidmüller ergänzen die HSMtec®-Leiterplatte. Die für Servoregler und Frequenzumrichter konzipierten Leiterplattenklemmen sind im Raster bis 15 mm und einem Leistungsbereich bis 150 A/1000 V (IEC) bzw. 127 A/600 V (UL) sowie in verschiedenen Kontaktarten erhältlich. HSMtec®-Leiterplatten werden auch mit Schraub- und Druckkontakten speziell für IGBTs, Einpresskontakten unter Einhaltung der erforderlichen Einpresstoleranzen und mit Lötkontakten für die Durchstecktechnik (THT) oder mit reflowfähigen Bauteilen für automatisierte SMT-Prozesse kontaktiert.

LinkedIn
E-Mail
Print

Kommentar hinterlassen

Scroll to Top